0 Comments for this article

Tags: , , , ,

On the women’s side, Mississippi State has a similar monopoly on the Gillom Trophy with Victoria Vivians having won the last two. No player had ever won the award for a third time until today.
Vivians is now the first and only one to do that after becoming the first ever freshman to win it back in 2015. This season, the junior guard is by far and away leading the Lady Bulldogs in scoring at a clip of more than 16 points per game. She also carried MSU to its best regular season in program history, falling just short of the SEC tournament crown in the title game.
Needless to say this one-woman wrecking crew is gonna need a bigger trophy case. “Oh, it’s another good award to add to your collection, and this award wouldn’t be possible without my teammates and my coaching staff and my family support system. So I’m just very grateful to be able to win it three times in a row,” said Vivians.
Mississippi State head women’s basketball Coach Vic Schaefer said, “She gets everybody’s best defender, everybody’s best game plan every night. No one knows her better than the coaches and the players in our league in the SEC, and she continues to do it at an unbelievable rate and at a very high level.”
Mississippi State now accounts for six of the ten winners in the history of the Gillom Trophy. Vivians beat out her teammate Morgan William for the award as well as Brittanny Dinkins from Southern Miss.

Comment on this Story

Related News